When you’re trying to learn how to eat healthy you may become exposed to a lot of terms, some may sound familiar others may not. Most people have heard of a vegetarian or vegan even if they can’t give the text book definition of what they are but the average person doesn’t know what a lacto vegetarian or an ovo vegetarian is. It’s helpful to know what all these words mean to be able to classify your own diet.
For starters, there are several different types of vegetarians like lacto-ovo vegetarians, lacto vegetarians, ovo vegetarians, vegans, and raw vegetarians. The most common vegetarian is a lacto-ovo vegetarian which is a person that doesn’t consume animals but does consume eggs, dairy products, fruits, vegetables, greens, legumes, grains, soy products, seitan, nuts, and honey. A lacto vegetarian eats everything a lacto-ovo vegetarian eats except eggs and an ovo vegetarian eats everything a lacto-ovo vegetarian eats except dairy.
Veganism is more than just a diet it’s a lifestyle. Vegans do not eat anything from animals and they try not to use animal products by using cruelty-free toiletries and not wearing fur or leather. A raw vegetarian is a person that doesn’t eat cooked foods.
These are not all the terms out there but this is a start in your quest for healthy eating.